Car-aoke!

So I have a not so secret confession to make:

My name is Evelyn and I am a Car-aokeholic!

If you know me and have ridden in a car with me, you have been subjected to one (or many) covers of an amazing Mariah Carey, Selena or Adele song. These three amazing singers are constantly featured on MANY of my playlists on Spotify and in response to their ultra dramatic and highly celebrated voices, I feel I MUST sing along and give as moving a performance as possible from the drivers (and sometimes passenger) seat! I must note that I am not a great singer myself. I can carry a tune alright but I mostly just love to sing for the heck of it! I love music and the way a song can be just good ole fun or an amazing work of art that transports you to a different time and place altogether.

Now I know you probably see that person in the car next to you while you’re driving singing like they’re on stage at Madison Square Garden wailing to a sold out crowd and think, “What is this crazy person doing? Isn’t she embarrassed? Like, doesn’t he realize he’s making an ugly face? Do her eyes need to be closed for that long?”

Speaking for the Car-aoke Community, “YES, YES THEY DO!”

This tradition of mine can be traced back to as early as December of 1995 when I was just a young gal in the back seat of my mom’s car on our way to El Paso, TX to visit our family for the holidays. I was sitting in the back seat with my sister and exploring my brand spanking new Barbie Walkman, which had a Mariah Carey tape ready and waiting for me to hit play! As a child, I was very theatrical and often put on shows imitating my all time favorite Mexican Pop Rock Princess Gloria Trevi. Now, to be fair, what else was a theatrical 8 year old gonna do on a 16 HOUR ROAD TRIP? She was gonna sing the hell out of her favorite song on that tape and try to hit all of Mariah’s high notes that’s what. And that is exactly what I did! Now reflecting on this, my family must really really love me because the only person that complained was my sister Laura and my Grandpa (AKA my biggest fan) gave her the Let-your-sister-do-her-thing look. My poor sister, she had to listen to Mariah Carey’s “Fantasy (Remix)” over and over again belted at the top of my lungs. I hope she will one day forgive me for what must have been the road trip from hell for her.

So that is how it all started and still continues to this day. Again, to be fair, I commute about 2.5 to 3 hours daily and need something to keep me from going crazy with road rage! So I channel all my energy and frustrations into creating amazing mobile concerts for my passengers and if I’m by myself you better believe I’m rehearsing! My music preferences vary with my mood! So be careful if you catch me on a rare melancholy day…there will be MANY Adele songs playing! But all-in-all Car-aoke is a very fun way to bond with the people in your car. You don’t have to be a great singer and you can get creative! Maybe even the people on the street or in the car next to you might join in as it once happened to me on my way home. I was jammin to the amazing Divinyls and giving an awesome rendition of “I Touch Myself” when the guy crossing the intersection decides to stop right in front of my  car and start air guitaring while I sing vocals! It was an awesome moment and I was smiling like a fool the entire way home. I still chuckle to myself when I think about it!

So here is where I challenge you! Yes, you! Step out of your comfort zone if you don’t already Car-aoke and put on your best performance! This is a great way to break the ice during an awkward car ride or to mortify/rock with your teenage kids! In my family, almost everyone Car-aoke’s (especially my lil bro and I) and we even have specific songs we just HAVE TO perform while in the car! My cousins and I snapchat each other when we are especially feeling the song we are performing! I’ll provide a list of songs I often Car-aoke to below! I hope you enjoy the songs and that some of my anecdotes put a smile on your face! If not, then just put one there for the hell of it!

  1. Queen – Bohemian Rhapsody
  2. Bon Jovi – Livin’ On A Prayer
  3. Adele – Rumor Has It
  4. Cindy Lauper – Girls Just Wanna Have Fun
  5. Destiny’s Child – Say My Name
  6. The Killers – Mr. Brightside
  7. Linkin Park – In The End
  8. Justin Timberlake – Sexy Back
  9. Miranda Lambert – Mama’s Broken Heart
  10. Alicia Keys – Fallin’

tumblr_m5jf3mLO0G1ruou7uo1_500

These are mostly songs I like to wail too but feel free to use them to get you started or leave a comment with a list of songs you Car-aoke to! I’d love to see what you all are singing and possibly add new songs to my collection!

Leave a Reply

